Actions You Can Take

City's first steps

The City of Edmonds has already taken many steps toward energy savings in the areas of public works, land use, transportation, and public education activities, including: switching to B-20 biodiesel fuel in most City-owned vehicles, switching to energy-efficient LED lighting in traffic signals, retrofitting plumbing systems in City-owned buildings for water efficiency, supporting rapid transit initiatives, and offering public education on solid waste reduction and recycling.

How can I help?

How you live, eat, and travel affect our climate. As carbon dioxide gases are released into the atmosphere, the atmospheric temperature is raised, leading to global warming. The results of this warming threaten our existence on earth if left unchecked. You are responsible for creating 11 tons of carbon dioxide a year. Outside of the United States, individuals create only about four tons a year. Here are some simple steps you can take right now to help.

At home

Replace old appliances that hog energy.

Insulate and tune up your furnace.

Keep the thermostat lower

Use compact fluorescent light (CFL) bulbs Calculate your home's electrical load profile


Drink tap water, not bottled water

On the road

Use your car less...a lot less!

Walk. Carpool. Take the bus. Bike.

Tune up your car.

Inflate your tires properly

Buy locally

If you must drive, drive efficiently

In your yard

Be a smart gardener

Plant trees

Eliminate the gas lawnmower, edger, and blower


Climate Committee

The Mayors' Climate Protection Committee meets the first Thursday of the month from 8:45 - 10 am in the Fourtner Room ~ 3rd Floor of Edmonds City Hall, 121 5th Avenue North.(Meetings subject to change... please contact Carolyn LaFave for meeting schedule.) (Currently, due to COVID-19, meetings are being held virutally via zoom from 8:30 - 9:30 am. For agenda

Mayor's office contacts

Mayor Mike Nelson [email protected]

Carolyn LaFave, Executive Assistant to the Mayor
[email protected]

Phone: 425.771.0247
Fax: 425.771.0252

Committee members


  • Lisa Conley
  • Nives Dolšak
  • Lisa Herb
  • Dawna Lahti
  • Hank Landau
  • Jenna Nand
  • Cynthia Pruitt
  • Terese Richmond
  • David Schaefer
  • Zen Wolfang
  • Laura Johnson ~ Council Rep

City Staff:

  • Rob Chave
  • Shane Hope
  • Kernen Lien