Historic Preservation Commission


The mission of the Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission is to promote historic preservation and encourage the owners of historically significant properties to voluntarily add them to the Edmonds Register of Historic Places in order to raise awareness and appreciation of local history.

The major responsibilities of the Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission are as follows:

1. To identify and actively encourage the conservation of the city’s historic resources by initiating and maintaining a register of historic places and reviewing proposed changes to register properties;

2. To raise community awareness of the city’s history and historic resources; and,

3. To serve as the city’s primary resource in historic planning and preservation.


The Commission

Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council.

The commission consists of nine voting members and one nonvoting, ex officio position filled by an Edmonds city council member. The commission includes at least two professionals who have experience in identifying, evaluating and protecting historic resources; six positions are filled by citizens of Edmonds with the demonstrated interest in historic preservation; and one position is filled as recommended by the Edmonds South Snohomish County Historical Society.

Although commissioners are normally Edmonds residents, exceptions may be granted by the Mayor and City Council in order to obtain representatives with the required expertise.


Preservation Guide (151KB ARgif2) — a guide to historic preservation in Edmonds, with information on Edmonds' "living history", the historic register, and photographs of Edmonds' historic legacy.



HPC Information

EHPC Logo sm


Contact Information:

Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission 
c/o Edmonds Planning Division 
121 5th Ave N 
Edmonds WA 98020

Hours: M,T,Th,F: 8am to 4:30pm; W: Closed - Switchboard open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Appointments only.)



Meeting Information:

The commission meets at 5:30 p.m. on the third floor of City Hall on the second Thursday of each month. (Meetings are subject to change.)

Meeting agendas

Meeting minutes



  • Emily Scott (Chair)
  • Larry Vogel (Vice Chair)
  • Chris Deiner-Karr
  • Eric Livingston
  • Tim Raetzloff
  • Stephen Waite
  • Sandra Allbery (Historic Society)
  • David Teitzel (Council)

City Staff:

  • Rob Chave
  • Diane Cunningham