Arts Commission

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Founded in 1975, the Edmonds Arts Commission (EAC) works to ensure that the arts are a vital part of our community’s quality of life, economic vitality and central identity.

The EAC meets monthly and is empowered to advise and make recommendations to the Mayor, City Council or other City commissions or boards on matters pertaining to the arts.

The EAC is comprised of seven appointed Commissioners who are residents of Edmonds and who serve staggered four-year terms. By ordinance, four of the positions require a professional background in the arts.

Arts Commission programs and partnerships in the literary, visual and performing arts highlight Edmonds as a cultural destination with rich artistic resources. Programs include:

The EAC supports a variety of additional programs through partnerships and sponsorship, including Music at the Library with Friends of the Edmonds Library and Edmonds Sno-Isle Library, and Kidstock with Edmonds Center for the Arts.

Economic Impact: The City Parks, Recreation and Cultural Services and Economic Development Departments conducted a study of the economic impact of the arts in Edmonds in 2017. Information about the study is available at

Edmonds Creative District: Building on the completion of the Economic Impact of the Arts & Culture Study, the Arts Commission partnered with the Economic Development Commission to apply for WA State Creative District certification. In late November 2018, the City of Edmonds became the first certified Creative District under the new State program, managed by ArtsWA. More information about the creative District is available at 

Arts Contact Information

Contact Information
Edmonds Arts Commission (EAC)
700 Main Street | Edmonds WA 98020
425-771-0228 | eac edmondswa gov
Hours: Mon-Fri, 8:30am-5:00pm 

Meeting Information
EAC meets the first Monday of the month via Zoom at 4:30pm, until further notice (meeting schedule subject to change). For the agenda and schedule, go to:

Rhonda J Soikowski (Chair)
Richard Chung
Lesly Kaplan 
Pat Oneill
Lisa Palmatier
Tanya Sharp
Ashley Song

City Staff
Frances White Chapin
Arts and Culture Manager

Laurie Rose
Arts Program Specialist

Arts Commission Newsletter Signup

Newsletter logo white transp