Building Division Contacts

Edmonds Development Permitting During the COVID-19 Emergency

Effective Tuesday, March 17 — and until further notice — City Hall is CLOSED for general public access
City Staff will continue to perform permitting activities while limiting in-person contact during the emergency.

FOR GENERAL INQUIRIES:  please contact the Development Services Department at devserv.admin@edmondswa.gov or by phone at 425-771-0220

CONSTRUCTION AND INSPECTIONS:

          June 5, 2020 - Snohomish County was approved to enter Phase 2. 

          Visit the Construction & Inspections Page for information on complying with the Governor's Phase 2 Construction Restart.

 

ELECTRONIC PERMIT SUBMITTALS: Visit the Apply For A Permit Page for inquiries related to electonic plan submittals and review of applications.  

 

   

BUILDING DIVISION STAFF

 

Building Official

Leif Bjorback
leif.bjorback@edmondswa.gov

Senior Permit Coordinator

Kristin Johns
kristin.johns@edmondswa.gov

Permit Coordinator

Denise Nelson
denise.nelson@edmondswa.gov

Permit Coordinator

Christina Wayland
christina.wayland@edmondswa.gov

Combination Building Inspector

Milton Thompson
milton.thompson@edmondswa.gov

Combination Building Inspector

Eric Carter
eric.carter@edmondswa.gov

Plans Examiner

Donovan Akau
donovan.akau@edmondswa.gov

Plans Examiner

Kevin Bloomfield
kevin.bloomfield@edmondswa.gov

Permitting Contacts

Development Services Department
121 5th Ave N
Edmonds, WA 98020

Phone: 425-771.0220
Fax: 425.771.0221

Hours:
M, T, Th, F: 8am to 4:30pm
Wed 8:30am to Noon
The switchboard is open daily from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  425.771.0220

Contacts:

Building Division
Planning Division
Engineering Development Staff
Code Enforcement

Building & Code News

MyBuildingPermit.com

The City of Edmonds is now utilizing the MyBuildingPermit.com online portal for permit applications, inspections requests and more.  MyBuildingPermit.com is a permitting site shared with neighboring jurisdictions.  Please visit the website for more information and resources.

 

Building Codes Updated

The 2018 International Building Codes are expected to be adopted by the City of Edmonds later this year and take effect on November 1, 2020.

 

COVID-19 Permitting

COVID-19 Emergency measures are now in effect!

Sign Code Updated

The City's sign code has recently been updated, modifying how downtown sidewalk signs are regulated as well as improving some other more general sign code provisions. A summary can be found here, along with an application form.

 

2020 Development Fees

The new Edmonds development fee schedule is available here - effective January 15, 2020.